This study was sponsored by the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) Advanced Nuclear Technology Action Plan Committee, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Nuclear Energy and Office of the Chief of Nuclear Safety, and the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research. Technical experts from the DOE, NRC, U.S. Geological Survey, Defense Nuclear Facility Safety Board, industry, and academia participated in the study as part of the Technical Integration (TI) Team or as members of the Participatory Peer Review Panel (PPRP). Any statements, opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of the participating or sponsoring agencies.

Jeffrey F. Hamel was the EPRI Advanced Nuclear Technology Program Manager. Lawrence A. Salomone of Savannah River Nuclear Solutions, LLC, served as the Project Manager for the study. Kevin J. Coppersmith of Coppersmith Consulting Inc., served as the lead for the TI Team.

J. Carl Stepp of Earthquake Hazards Solutions, and Walter J. Arabasz, Research Professor Emeritus of Geology and Geophysics at the University of Utah, served as Co-chairmen for the PPRP. The entire Central and Eastern United States Seismic Source Characterization Project Team and their roles are discussed in Section 2 and are shown on the project organization chart (Figure 2.3-1) of the report.

The authors of the report wish to acknowledge the contributions of the following people: the resource experts who participated in Workshop 1, the proponent experts who participated in Workshop 2, and the technical experts who provided valuable insights, perspective, and references throughout the study. The names of all these contributors are listed in Table 2.2-2. In addition, the authors of the report appreciate the support of Geraldine Moore-Butler as administrative assistant and Nancy L. Sutherland as technical editor for the project. This report was assembled at AMEC.